Sevanavank is located on the peninsula of Lake Sevan, founded by Gregory the Illuminator in 305. Excavations revealed
that this place was inhabited in the Stone and Bronze Ages. According to the inscription on the southern wall of the Church of the Holy Apostles, the expansion and construction of the monastery in the 9th century was organized by the daughter of Ashot I Bagratuni, the founder of the royal house of Bagratuni. The surviving buildings are currently restored and available to anyone who wants to personally see the old monument. Sevanavank is one of the most recognizable historical and cultural sites of Armenia.
The well-established transport infrastructure of Armenia allows to get to Sevanavank monastery by a private car or with the help of various travel companies which offer regular excursions and tours to different sights of the country. Due to the geographical location of Sevanavank monastery the trip will not seem long.
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Sevanavank monastery depends on the weather conditions.
The monastery was founded in 305, and two churches in 874. Sevanavank Monastery is located on the peninsula of Sevan (formerly an island). Gregory the Illuminator founded the monastery in 305. The island has been fortified with fences since the Bronze Age. It is believed that there was a pagan temple here. The princes of Syunik province founded a stronghold here in IX century.
Mariam - the daughter of King Ashot Bagratuni, the wife of Prince of Syunik Vasak Gabura, founded here two churches: Arakelots (smaller one) and Surb Astvatsatsin (St. Mother of God). These are small cross-domed churches with three apses. There have been preserved ancient building records on the eastern side of the dome of Arakelots church. St. Astvatsatsin church is located near Arakelots church. A narthex (it is considered one of the oldest narthexes in Armenia) was added to the western side of the church. Columns of the narthex were crowned with wooden ornamented capitals, which are currently stored in the History Museum of Armenia and the Hermitage. It is assumed that the capitals were brought from unknown palace building. These are really valuable works of Armenian medieval woodworking art.
Abandoned during the Soviet period and severely damaged in the earthquake of 1936, the monastery was not revived until the 1990s. Nowadays it is one of the most famous touristic locations for Armenia.
Mary Amp 1253