Matosavank Monastery
Region
Tavush
Distance from Yerevan
100.9 km
Type
Monastery/Church
Matosavank, built in the 13th century, is located within the territory of Dilijan National Park in the Tavush region. The monastery consists of the Saint Astvatsatsin Church, a narthex, and a library. These structures primarily feature preserved vaulted ceilings. The Saint Astvatsatsin Church of the complex is also known as the Copper Mine Church or the Saint Astvatsatsin of the Copper Mine. It is a small vaulted structure. On either side of the church's entrance, two khachkars (cross-stones) are still preserved. Another khachkar is located on the north side beneath the church's wall, dating back to 1251. The collapsed dome is no longer present. Both the narthex and library are also vaulted, though the exact date of their construction remains unknown.
Interesting
facts about Matosavank Monastery

Facts



Weather in Tavush
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Matosavank monastery depends on the weather conditions.