Tsaghats Kar Monastery is a monastic complex located along the mountain foothills overlooking the Yeghegis River, between the villages of Yeghegis (6 km northeast) and Horbategh in the Vayots Dzor Province. The monastery is located within walking distance of the fortress of Smbataberd. The church was built during the reign of Bagratuni Kingdom in 984-1029. There are 2 churches in the neighborhood with an earlier date. There are two groups of structures at the site that are separated by a distance of 200 meters (656 feet). The group to the west, now half-ruined, was constructed of rough-hewn basalt.
The well-established transport infrastructure of Armenia allows to get to Tsaghats Kar Monastery by a private car or with the help of various travel companies which offer regular excursions and tours to different sights of the country. Due to the geographical location of Tsaghats Kar Monastery the trip will not seem long.
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Tsaghats Kar Monastery depends on the weather conditions.
An inscription is preserved above the eastern entrance of the gate, according to which Prince Proshyan granted the monastery a garden planted by himself in memory of his grandfather Prince Prosh.
A writing center operated in Tsaghats Kar monastery in the 15th century. Sharaknots (a collection of Armenian religious songs (1437)), Avetaran (Gospel (1463, 1492)) and other manuscripts were copied here.