Tanahat Monastery was mentioned by the historians in the 8th century (Tanadeh monastery). The main church, St. Stephen, was built in 1273-1279. The southern wall is decorated with the Emblems of Proshians – eagle holding a lamb in its claws. St. Nshan church is adjacent to the monument from the north and was built in the 13th century. The depiction of the hunting scenes is remarkable. Many gravestones were opened during the excavations of 1970 on the south-western side of the monastery church.
The well-established transport infrastructure of Armenia allows to get to Tanahat Monastery by a private car or with the help of various travel companies which offer regular excursions and tours to different sights of the country. Due to the geographical location of Tanahat Monastery the trip will not seem long.
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Tanahat Monastery depends on the weather conditions.
According to some scholars, there was Gladzor University not far from the monastery. It was the most outstanding educational institution in the Middle Ages, which was founded in 1282 to study natural sciences, mathematics, theology, geometry, astronomy, dialectology, miniature painting and other subjects.
The building was a pagan temple in ancient times, and in the early Christian era – a strict spiritual monastery.
GLADZOR UNIVERSITY HISTORIC-CULTURAL PRESERVE-MUSEUM
YEGHEGNADZOR ART GALLERY
Mary Amp 1253