Talin Cathedral was built around the 7th century. It is considered the largest religious object of Talin village built in those centuries. The architectural monument was erected by the princes of Kamsarakan family. According to some sources originally the cathedral was Orthodox. The earliest inscription preserved on the walls was made in 783. Today Talin Cathedral is almost in a dilapidated state and the dome of the building is missing: the earthquake of 1840 caused enormous damage. Despite this, the cathedral is of great interest for lovers of ancient architecture.
The well-established transport infrastructure of Armenia allows to get to Talin Cathedral by a private car or with the help of various travel companies which offer regular excursions and tours to different sights of the country. Due to the geographical location of Talin Cathedral the trip will not seem long.
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Talin Cathedral depends on the weather conditions.
Talin Cathedral is located in the city Talin, in Aragatsotn province of Armenia Due to harmonious, balanced proportions, the construction opens to the viewer in harmony and balance. Unlike restraint of the Armenian architecture of V-VII centuries, Talin Cathedral is more luxurious. The sculptures were painted white and red.
There is an early medieval cemetery in the west and north of Talin Cathedral. Obelisks of the 5th-6th centuries and khachkars of the 4th century can be seen on the territory of the cemetery. The Arabs invaded Talin in 774, killing and capturing a large part of the population. This tragedy is known in the Armenian history as the massacre of Talin.
The inner walls of Talin Cathedral were completely covered with picturesque frescoes. Many large and small sites were preserved on the main altar and the surrounding walls. Under the dome, above the main altar, there was a unique version of the icon "Christ in Glory", where instead of Jesus Christ was represented only his throne.
Mary Amp 1253