St. Gevorg church in Mughni was a popular pilgrimage place, as well as the center where the manuscripts were copied during the Middle Ages. Old buildings were demolished and the three-nave basilica, monastic cells and the fence were erected in their place in the 17th century. The church was completely rebuilt in 1660 and its roof, dome and the living quarters were repaired later, in the 19th century. Black and dark yellow tuff has been used for the construction of St. Gevorg church. Walls are decorated with frescoes made in the 19th century and bas-reliefs, in the form of evangelists, are depicted on the dome.
The well-established transport infrastructure of Armenia allows to get to Mughni, St. Gevorg church by a private car or with the help of various travel companies which offer regular excursions and tours to different sights of the country. Due to the geographical location of Mughni, St. Gevorg church the trip will not seem long.
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Mughni, St. Gevorg church depends on the weather conditions.
According to the historian of the 17th century Zakaria Sarkavag, the monastery, where the relics of St. Gevorg (George) were preserved, was founded by the unity of Hovhannavank monastery. Probably, St. Gevorg church in Mughni was built in the first half of the 13th century, because already in 1278 manuscripts were copied here. Part of the relics of St. Gevorg were delivered to Georgia for the treatment of the Georgian prince. In order to preserve these relics later, the church named St. Gevorg was built in Tbilisi as well.
The architect of St. Gevorg church was Sahak Hizanetsi, and after his death (1666) his son Murad, who was also his student, continued the work. In 1734, Catholicos Abraham Khoshabetsi made a pilgrimage in the monastery. The merchant Hovhannes and his wife Tamara donated a curtain to the monastery in 1811, in which a Crucifixion and St. Gevorg (an equestrian piercing a spear of a dragon) are depicted. Now the curtain is kept in the History Museum of Armenia.
Colors play an important role in the external appearance of the church: black and yellowish red tufa stone is used. Visitors can see bas-relief, symbolizing the four evangelists, on the drum of the dome. The southern entrance is distinguished by exceptionally rich architecture. There were relics of St. Gevorg (George), Apostle Thaddaeus and Evangelist Matthew in Mughni monastery. The day of pilgrimage in the monastery is the last Saturday of September.