Khndzoresk is a unique place of interest, famous for its ancient caves, where people lived until the 1950s. Khndzoresk was considered a historical monument, which was preserved by the Soviet Union. “Old Khndzoresk should be preserved and protected as the largest museum of antiquities,” said Martiros Saryan. “There are few such wonderful places in the world.” The history and nature of Khndzoresk are reflected in the works of a number of Armenian writers and artists. In the end of the 19th century Old Khndzoresk was the biggest village of Eastern Armenia. In the beginning of the 20th century the community had 8300 inhabitants (1800 households). In 1913 there were 27 shops, 3 dye-houses, tanneries, 7 schools. The village is famous for taking part in the liberation movement of David Bek. The fortress of Khndzoresk served as a military base for Mkhitar Sparapet in 1728-1730.
The well-established transport infrastructure of Armenia allows to get to Khndzoresk cave village by a private car or with the help of various travel companies which offer regular excursions and tours to different sights of the country. Due to the geographical location of Khndzoresk cave village the trip will not seem long.
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Khndzoresk cave village depends on the weather conditions.
According to folk etymology, the root of the name Khndzoresk is the word "khndzor", which means in Armenian an apple. According to another etymology, Khndzoresk was previously called Khordzor or Khordzoresk (khor - deep, dzor - gorge), later undergoing some sound changes, it took the current form. Both opinions, of course, are acceptable: there are many deep gorges and good apples here.
Two banks of the gorge - Old and New Khndzoresk, are connected by a long swinging bridge, from which four churches of Khndzoresk and a spring of Nine children are visible. The bridge was built in 2012 on the initiative and sponsorship of local businessman Zhora Aleksanyan. The length of the bridge is 160 meters, height 63 meters, and weight - 14 tons. The bridge can simultaneously "service" about 700 people with an average weight.
Khndzoresk was the largest village in Eastern Armenia. The population of the village was 4200 in the XIX century, and at the beginning of the XX century - 8,300 people. In 1913, the village had 27 shops, 3 workshops and 7 schools, two parochial schools, and the rest private. In the village, there were four churches: St. Hripsime, St. Taghevos, Desert and Old.
Mary Amp 1253