Hermon Monastery founded by the prince of Syunik Smbat and bishop Hakob in 936 was famous as a major religious and cultural center where outstanding philosophers, artists and authors of various manuscripts carried out their activities. A new modern school – the school of the Hermon Monastery, was founded here in the 14th century. The main survived building of the monastery today is an ancient architectural monument – three-nave basilica with two basalt columns. The dome and part of the southern wall are destroyed. The monastery was surrounded by high walls. Nowadays you can see the ruins of old buildings on this territory.
The well-established transport infrastructure of Armenia allows to get to Hermon monastery by a private car or with the help of various travel companies which offer regular excursions and tours to different sights of the country. Due to the geographical location of Hermon monastery the trip will not seem long.
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Hermon monastery depends on the weather conditions.
The Monastery of Hermon (Ahermon monastery, Knevank monastery), is an Armenian architectural monument located in Vayots Dzor province, in the valley of the river Eghegis. The monastery was a famous religious and cultural center.
Nowadays the main survived building of the monastery - St. Gregory church is a basalt three-nave basilica (XVII century). Part of the south wall and the roof are destroyed. Ruins of the buildings of the former complex have been preserved in the rectangular fenced area of the monastery.
Mary Amp 1253