New Varagavank monastery (12-13th centuries) located in Tavush province was founded by Prince David of New Berd and his son Vasak. It was originally called the desert. New Varagavank was named after Vagharshakan’s famous Varagavank monastery that was destroyed by mongols. There are khachkars near the monastery, the largest of which was built in 1620 by Vardan.
The well-established transport infrastructure of Armenia allows to get to Nor Varagavank by a private car or with the help of various travel companies which offer regular excursions and tours to different sights of the country. Due to the geographical location of Nor Varagavank the trip will not seem long.
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Nor Varagavank depends on the weather conditions.
The priest of the monastery Varagavank transferred the relics that were kept in the monastery to the monastic desert in 1213, including a particle of the Holy Cross, which was brought by the roman virgin martyrs.
The Holy Cross of Varaga is currently kept in Echmiadzin Monastery. The cross is transferred from Echmiadzin Monastery to New Varagavank for presentation to the christians each year, on the same day.
There is a legend about a monastery construction assistant and an orphan girl who brought water for construction. The assistant loved the girl, their love was mutual. Alas, love has disappeared with the sunset. The girl did not survive the persecutions and curses of the monks and disappeared. A young builder, having found the body of the dead girl, built a small chapel for lovers in the south of the monastery Varagavank, which still stands today.
THE FORTRESS OF TAVUSH / TSLIK AMRAM’S FORTRESS