Lori Fortress was founded in the early 11th century. The place had ten thousand inhabitants and was quite lively during the Middle Ages being located at the crossroads of trade routes. After numerous attacks and destructions in the 13th century, Lori lost strategic importance. Fortress residents founded a village called Lori Berd in the 1920s and 1930s. Two baths, two pools with fountains and other unique architectural monuments were discovered here as a result of excavations carried out here since 1966. Lori Fortress has been visited by many tourists and Armenian residents as an interesting landmark. Besides the historical value, this place is also remarkable for its beautiful natural scenery.
The well-established transport infrastructure of Armenia allows to get to Lori fortress by a private car or with the help of various travel companies which offer regular excursions and tours to different sights of the country. Due to the geographical location of Lori fortress the trip will not seem long.
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Lori fortress depends on the weather conditions.
David Anhoghin built the fortress, probably in 1005-20. Lori, being located on the northern trade road, was a large trade and handicrafts center of medieval Armenia. In addition, trade roads to Ani, Dvin, Dmanis, Tpilis and other cities, were connected to Lori. In the XI-XIII centuries, the population of the city was about 10 thousand.
Fortress Lori occupies 35 hectares. It is located at an altitude of 1490 meters above sea level, between the river Dzoraget and its steam Urut. Their deep gorges "defend" the fortress from three sides. The noble family Kyurikyans, then Zakaryans and their descents built palaces, churches, baths, cemeteries, bridges, in the gorges that separate the outskirts of the city, and set khachkhars. In addition, an underground passage was built, which reached the river Urut. The underground passage ended with a construction similar to a tower. It was used to maintain contact with the outside world and, if necessary, to obtain drinking water.
А rectangular structure has been preserved in the area, its interior is divided into six parts, covered with domes. The stone inside the southern wall proves that this building was a Muslim mosque (XIV-XV centuries). The local basalt is used in the construction of Fortress Lori.
Mary Amp 1253