Mariam and Yeranuhi Aslamazyan Sisters’ Gallery is a black tuff building with a door opening into a flower-laden garden with porches on two sides featuring lovely wooden lattice work built during 1880-1900. It was used to be a residential house, then in 1987 it was renovated and was turned into tհe gallery. The building suffered a lot during the 1988th earthquake, but in 2003 it was rebuilt with the support of “Lincy” foundation. The first floor of the gallery presents Yeranuhi’s works, whereas the second is dedicated to Mariam’s works. Besides the paintings the ceramic plates made by Mariam Aslamazyan, and the pottery works made by Yeranuhi are presented in the gallery. Some works of Mariam are also stored in the State Tretyakov Gallery, including “Armenian Still Life” (1955) and “Red Cactus Flower” (1957).
The well-established transport infrastructure of Armenia allows to get to Aslamazyan Sisters Gallery by a private car or with the help of various travel companies which offer regular excursions and tours to different sights of the country. Due to the geographical location of Aslamazyan Sisters Gallery the trip will not seem long.
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Aslamazyan Sisters Gallery depends on the weather conditions.
The gallery is a two-story building. The works of Eranuhi Aslamazyan are kept on the first floor; the works of Mariam Aslamazyan – on the second. This gallery is considered to be the only art gallery in Armenia, which changed the attitude towards gender equality. The authors of the shown and preserved works had a really notable role in Armenian art life.
Mary Amp 1253