The monastery was built in the XIII century. It consisted of two churches, narthex, residential and economic buildings on the north side. The church is of a cross-shaped, domed type with two-storeyed vestries in four corners. The walls of the church are decorated with floristic and geometric patterns, as well as valuable illustrations made on the Old and New Testament themes.
The well-established transport infrastructure of Armenia allows to get to Aghjots monastery by a private car or with the help of various travel companies which offer regular excursions and tours to different sights of the country. Due to the geographical location of Aghjots monastery the trip will not seem long.
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Aghjots monastery depends on the weather conditions.
Many manuscripts were written in the monastery in the XV century. The relics of priest St. Stephen and Aristakes A. Partev were also kept here.
Mary Amp 1253