Abovyan Street – one of the central streets of the capital city of Armenia was opened in 1863. Initially, the street was called Astafyan (Astafevskaya). The street stretched through the city center to the very central square. Once an old-fashioned tram rode along the street. The street was renamed to Alexandrovskaya in honor of Alexander III in 1883, by decision of the Moscow City Duma. Later, in 1921, it received the name of the outstanding Armenian writer, enlightener and teacher Khachatur Abovyan. This name the street bears to this day.
The well-established transport infrastructure of Armenia allows to get to Abovyan street by a private car or with the help of various travel companies which offer regular excursions and tours to different sights of the country. Due to the geographical location of Abovyan street the trip will not seem long.
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Abovyan street depends on the weather conditions.
Abovyan Street was the very first street that appeared on the city plan of Yerevan. Therefore, speaking about the city plan, people first of all mention this street. Thus, the beginning of Abovyan street got its second, popular name “plani glukh”, which means “head of the plan” – the beginning of the plan. Sometimes this name is used even now. The statue of Khachatur Abovyan stands at the very beginning of Abovyan street, in the center of the roundabout. Abovyan Square is located a little lower down the street.
Before the October Revolution, two large churches stood on Abovyan Street: Pogos-Petros (Paul and Peter) and Katogհike. Both churches were destroyed during the Soviet years, only a small chapel of the Katoghike church was preserved. The building of the cinema "Moscow" was erected on the site of the church Pogos-Petros. A new church was built on the site of the Katoghike church. It is called Surb Astvatsatsin (Holy Mother of God). The ancient chapel (13th century) is located next to the newly built church.
Mary Amp 1253