Tegher is an early 13th-century Armenian monastery located on the southeastern slopes of Mount Aragats near Tegher village in Aragatsotn province. The church of Surb Astvatsatsin was built in 1213, and is constructed from dark gray basalt. According to the inscription on the entrance of the narthex, it was built by Prince Vache Vachutyan’s wife, Mamakhatun, the architect was Archimandrite Aghbayrik. The complex is built on a small hill. The domed chapels in the north-west and south-west corners of the narthex were exceptional and new structures in Armenian architecture. These chapels on the second floor are directly related to the memory of the dead buried in the narthex.
The well-established transport infrastructure of Armenia allows to get to Tegher Monastery by a private car or with the help of various travel companies which offer regular excursions and tours to different sights of the country. Due to the geographical location of Tegher Monastery the trip will not seem long.
The high season in Armenia lasts for a long time due to the pleasant climate conditions. Warm days in Armenia start in March and last until late autumn; winter is usually snowless and not long. The high precipitation season is variable. The tourist season for Tegher Monastery depends on the weather conditions.
The village Tegher was famous for its medical herbs, in connection with which the name Degher (literaly medicine) was originated. Not far from the monastery, there is a building where Armenian soldiers were cured and recovered.
It is said that Mamakhatun, Prince Vache Vachutyan's wife, built seven churches in memory of her early deceased daughter in the Aragatsotn region. All seven churches were originally named in honor of the Holy Virgin - Surb Astvatsatsin.